Aims and Topics

Stream processing as an information processing paradigm appears in various applications and has been investigated by various research communities within computer science. Next to algorithmic oriented research on low-level stream processing (e.g., for sensor networks), stream-related research of recent years resulted also in declarative stream processing frameworks, which are in the focus of this workshop. Declarative stream processing frameworks such as data stream management systems or systems for complex event processing (CEP) provide amongst other things stream query languages with a clear-cut semantics. The progress of technologies and computer science as a whole has brought up new challenges for stream processing that call for the modeling of knowledge and the construction of query engines which account for the knowledge. In ontology-based streams access (OBSA) as needed, e.g., in Semantic Web, queries are answered over data streams that contain declarative assertions with symbols from an ontology. Query answering now has to incorporate reasoning over the ontology in order to guarantee completeness of the set of answers. Also context-aware reasoning for streams or CEP have to incorporate some form of reasoning in order to deal with the consequences that the context/entity models have for the set of query answers.

The aim of this workshop is to foster research on high-level declarative stream processing in research areas such as OBSA, CEP, and context-aware stream processing, paying attention to the common ideas, concepts, methods.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Query processing on streams
  • Stream reasoning
  • Ontology based data access on streams or temporal data
  • Context aware processing on streams 
  • Complex event processing
  • Event recognition on streams
  • RDF/Linked Data stream processing 
  • Data stream management systems
  • Pervasive computing
  • Benchmarking for querying/reasoning on streams 
  • Real-time processing for diagnostics, prediction, monitoring


  • Papers are submitted using the EasyChair submission system at
  • Submission deadline for short and long papers is June 29,  2018. July 16,  2018.
  • Long papers are expected to have 8-12 pages (excluding references).
  • Short papers can be extended abstracts, position papers, demo descriptions, or overviews on recent results in your research group, and are expected to have 4-6 pages (excluding references)
  • The papers have to be formatted in the LNCS style and written in Latex (preferred) or Word. (See here for a Latex template and here for a Word template.)
  • Notifications of acceptance will be sent out on July 27, 2018.
  • The final version of the papers is due August 10, 2018
  • Accepted papers will be made available electronically: the proceedings shall be submitted to for online publication.
  • Accepted papers have to be presented orally by (at least) one of the authors in an 15-20  minutes talk (followed by a 5-10 minutes discussion). The presenting author has to register for the KI’18 conference. 

Important Dates

  • Full/Short paper submission: June 29, July 16, 2018
  • Notification of acceptance: July 27, 2018
  • Camera Ready Version: August 10, 2018
  • Workshop date: September 25, 2018
  • Registration KI'18: tba

Invited Speaker

Stefan Borgwardt

Technische Universität Dresden

Programme Committee

    Darko Anicic Siemens AG
    Konstantina Bereta National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
    Jean-Paul Calbimonte University of Applied Sciences and Arts Western Switzerland
    Daniele Dell'Aglio University of Zurich
    Robin Keskisärkkä Linköping university
    Patrick Koopmann Technische Universität Dresden
    Yannis Kotidis Athens University of Economics and Business
    Danh Le Phuoc Technische Universität Berlin
    Theofilos Mailis National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
    Alessandro Margara Politecnico di Milano
    Gulnar Mehdi Siemens AG
    Charalampos Nikolaou University of Oxford
    Le Thi Anh Thu Pham National University of Ireland Galway
    Alessandro Ronca University of Oxford
    Vladislav Ryzhikov Birkbeck, University of London
    Patrik Schneider Vienna University of Technology
    Josiane Xavier Parreira Siemens AG Österreich


Patrick Koopmann

Technische Universität Dresden

Theofilos Mailis

National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Danh Le Phuoc

Technische Universität Berlin